Dentist

To the dentist, for three-quarters of the usual check-ups. The girls passed with flying colours. I admitted to a twinge in one of my back teeth over the last six weeks or so. “Ah yes, there’s a hairline crack in the filling. We’ll try drilling it out and refilling it initially.”
“Whadda you mean, initially?”
“Well, if that doesn’t work we may have to drill it all out and then of course we’re into root canal work.”
Cue girls creasing themselves at the sight of my face, the little monsters. I don’t really know what “root canal” means but I do know it’s Not a Good Thing. Will find out more a week on Friday. At the very least, a jab in the gums and the drill on my teeth. Great. Only consolation was that the x-ray revealed I have two wisdom teeth on each side of my lower jaw. “That’s very unusual!” she exclaimed. “There’s a reason for that” I said.

Onto the hospice and Juliet was bright and well (relatively speaking), albeit with very swollen feet. Much better coordination of speech – and cutlery – today. Margaret (her mother) had remarked similarly when she had visited earlier.

Juliet still gets cross when I “tidy up” around her – dropped pieces of food and the like. Although she can’t express herself very well, her mind is still sharp and she doesn’t like condescending behaviour from us.

Evening run in the rain, just one of my original short circuits (6km) around the local villages. I was surprised at how easy it was. Must be picking up the fitness again.
Chicken curry, rice, spinach leaves and a beer probably means exactly a neutral weight gain.

About hodders

Husband and proud father of two daughters. Now a widower. Trying to balance between not dwelling on Juliet's death, but telling the world how much I loved her. Tricky.
This entry was posted in Cancer, Dentist, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy - please do leave a comment - I'd love to hear your views - they will add interest to the blog.

