Running and celery soup

Woken early by my iPhone alarm, and then a couple of seconds later by a Facebook message from Peter Clason asking what time today’s race was? Which made for a slightly bizarre start to the day. I was indeed racing today, at a Parkrun event, which are held all over the country every Saturday at 9am.

Brueton Parkrun

Brueton Parkrun

Volunteers host the event, it’s fairly basic but the race is timed and it’s free to take part. Today I went to Brueton Park in Solihull, the third such parkrun I’ve attended. The distance is quite short at 5k (3.1 miles) but the pace is hard! Today’s course was very pleasant – mostly flat with tree & lakes & ducks & stuff 😉 – and weather sunny with a light breeze. Running on a winding tarmac path made all the difference and I set a new PB (personal best) of 25:34. There were 167 runners today, including an Olympic finalist from 1968 & 1972, Sheila Carey, in her ’60s! (I see she did not in fact run today but her time last week was just over 21 mins). So that said, I am not worried about coming 90th out of 167 runners; most of the fastest people are serious runners at athletics clubs. And a lot younger, fitter and lighter than me. To immediately disprove that statement, after the race I bumped into an IBM colleague who regularly runs these events; his time today was 21:00 and he is older, fitter and lighter than me…

Next I drove to the pleasant suburb of Selly Oak to visit Peter and Ina Clason and collect a few slides that my Dad in France had sent via Peter. I did warn them that I was beginning to hum a bit, being very sweaty on a warm day! Cup of tea and a nice chat in their garden, then home. Lots of holiday traffic on the motorways.

Back at home, after doing various household jobs that had stacked up during the week, I turned my hand to the mountain of celery in the fridge, leftover from Carl & Susan’s stay, and made celery soup: half an onion, olive oil, garlic, a lot of celery and some chicken stock. Once liquidised it tastes like… liquidised celery & onion. But that’s OK.

We’ll see Juliet later this evening.

About hodders

Husband and proud father of two daughters. Now a widower. Trying to balance between not dwelling on Juliet's death, but telling the world how much I loved her. Tricky.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Running and celery soup

  1. Pingback: Running and a nice feeling | Some Distant Shore

Don't be shy - please do leave a comment - I'd love to hear your views - they will add interest to the blog.

