Music and tears in the chapel

Another warm and sunny day today. I was up early, to travel all the way to Coventry, to do another Parkrun. Not so good today, runners need to train and sleep well, and I’ve done neither very well this week. Don’t know my time yet, but it will be poor. I then drove over to Solihull to retrieve my fleece that I’d left with them after last week’s run. Good road, the A45 linking Coventry and Brum. That all went OK.

At home, after a shower, superman washed up and then cooked another batch of my infamous celery & onion soup, it tasted fine, though I say it myself. Then over to KH. Apparently Rodney, her mad-as-a-hatter second cousin (Janet’s brother) had visited earlier. Juliet could only say that he had made her laugh, which was nice.

I read Juliet a long e-mail from Jeremy in Australia, which I think she liked, I don’t get much reaction these days.

Juliet dropped in and out of dozing as I spoke to her, so I went & played the piano. The nurses came to give her a wash and I asked if she might be able to get into a wheelchair tomorrow & come & hear me play. Claire looked doubtful but then suggested that they wheel the bed itself up there and “what about now?”. So after her wash, and with Richard & Margaret having arrived, a somewhat-bewildered Juliet was wheeled up the corridor to the little chapel.

I did my stuff, but within seconds Juliet was fast asleep. I did try a few livelier pieces, such as “Arrival of the Queen of Sheba” and even “633 Squadron” but to no avail. Eventually she did wake up, but now she was visibly upset by hearing the music and its associations I suppose. That set me off, and we cried together for some time, while Margaret passed us tissues. So, bittersweet, but kind of worth it. I’m not sure I will ever be able to play “Lullaby of Birdland” again without remembering this afternoon.

Back to her room for tea – she had some quiche and three scones with jam & cream. She eyed the latter like a hawk eyeing a mouse. As before, I had to feed her;  I hope someone helped her with her previous meals today. Richard and I inspected the KH bog garden. Then it was time to go, I was hungry (celery soup doesn’t go far) and the girls were cooking pizza for me. As usual I looked at the TV guide to determine the best compromise channel choice for her, so she ended up with athletics, Dad’s Army and a programme about the Impressionists.

At home, a quick tea with the girls, then I went up to the Red Lion to meet neighbours Ian & Emma for a few drinks on a lovely, if slightly chilly summer’s evening.
They’re going to make me some risotto tomorrow.

About hodders

Husband and proud father of two daughters. Now a widower. Trying to balance between not dwelling on Juliet's death, but telling the world how much I loved her. Tricky.
This entry was posted in Cancer, Cooking, Hospice, Music, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music and tears in the chapel

  1. Pingback: Funeral | Some Distant Shore

  2. Pingback: Adverts, and the last letter | Some Distant Shore

Don't be shy - please do leave a comment - I'd love to hear your views - they will add interest to the blog.

