Funeral planning and admin

Awake early, up early. Margaret arrived and I went through Juliet’s notes re her funeral arrangements that she’d made. That set us both off in tears, just as the funeral director arrived. That was a very beneficial meeting, lots of questions answered and some new ones for consideration. I thought we had a date agreed but later information means that I need to rearrange it tomorrow. I will not post the date on a public blog anyway.

It was an extremely tearful morning for me & Margaret as we started sorting the returned clothes from the hospice, I showed her J’s box of letters, she read my draft eulogy and so on. The girls made us take a break for lunch. Looked at the flowers in the garden. Lucy got a huge box of flowers/teddy/chocs from a schoolfriend.

Later I made a start on the admin. I stupidly phoned the bank and told them the news, they have standard procedures which include removing internet access for both myself and Juliet. So now I can’t get online and can’t pay bills except by phoning them up or writing a cheque (what’s that?). Mandi, the Macmillan nurse phoned to arrange a meeting. When she asked how I was, I couldn’t speak for several moments. I described how I was feeling and she explained to me why I was feeling that way. I’m keeping the rest of our discussion private but they’re very clever people these nurses.

I’m not really in the mood for photos today, but let me share a couple. Here’s one taken seconds after I had thrown J in the girls’ paddling pool. Wow, she was mad at me! I can still hear the girls shouting “Bad Daddy! Bad Daddy!” It was worth it though. And the other one is of J as a magazine cover-girl – she went to some sort of exhibition at the NEC c.1993-4 and they gave her a makeover, took her photo and made it into a magazine cover. She wasn’t very keen on the photo – I know it doesn’t look like her – but I had it on the wall of my office for many years (OK, hanging on the partition wall of my office cubicle).

J as Clothes Show model

J as Clothes Show model

J thrown in the paddling pool

J thrown in the paddling pool

About hodders

Husband and proud father of two daughters. Now a widower. Trying to balance between not dwelling on Juliet's death, but telling the world how much I loved her. Tricky.
This entry was posted in Administration, Blog, Funeral. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy - please do leave a comment - I'd love to hear your views - they will add interest to the blog.

