Artichokes and guinea-pig cages

Woke at 4am. Fully awake at 6:30am. Sorted out a new date for the funeral as soon as the clock hit 9am, which had been bothering me greatly. Now resolved.

Phone calls and admin in the morning. A huge deck of sympathy cards arrived. Very touching. Took a call from the Humanist celebrant – seeing her tomorrow – seems promising. Finished the second draft of Juliet’s eulogy; mainly adding in reminiscences from her mother and friends. I note that I wrote the first draft – in one straight session – on 12 June this year. Wrote the invitation to the funeral service and dispatched it. Took and made several family calls, which upset me, for different reasons, not for here.

Driving with the girls in the afternoon, shopping, clothes to dry cleaners – and viewing of GP cages!

J as young girl princess fairy costume

J as young girl princess fairy costume

Also a trip to M&S to return some clothes that Juliet never wore at the hospice, from our shopping trip less than three weeks ago. Embarrassingly, my emotions overflowed in M&S, as I remembered just how much she liked shopping and how much she’d enjoyed that trip. Recovered, then same thing happened again later in the grocery section of Sainsbury’s . Bloody hell. It seems to be about triggers so far, maybe once I’ve done all the triggers I’ll be OK.

Cooked the artichokes from Rob & Eva’s before tea, using a Delia recipe. To follow, simply take some pencil shavings and woodchips, boil for 30 minutes, then serve. At least the duck eggs were great.

Alice is sooo excited about the pending guinea pigs. We now have a garden pen, a bag of food bought in Sainsbury’s and, although she doesn’t know it yet, I’ve just ordered a super-deluxe cage online. Delivery in 48 hours.

About hodders

Husband and proud father of two daughters. Now a widower. Trying to balance between not dwelling on Juliet's death, but telling the world how much I loved her. Tricky.
This entry was posted in Administration, Cooking, Funeral, Guinea pigs, Photos. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Artichokes and guinea-pig cages

  1. Siobhan says:

    I’ve just come across your blog. I’m so sorry to hear about your loss. Guinea pigs are very wise little animals, though hideously shy at first, they come out of their shells with a lot of love and cuddles. I’m sure Alice will do brilliantly with them. Arm her with bits of cucumber and they’ll make friends fast. Their hearts are in their stomachs!

    Like

    • hodders says:

      Thank you. I’m guessing that a blog mentioning books and guinea-pigs would appeal to you. Your blog looks of interest, I will have to have a good look through it, I have left a random-ish comment on it for now.

      Like

Don't be shy - please do leave a comment - I'd love to hear your views - they will add interest to the blog.

