Quite a nice day

The gardener turned up again today – on a Sunday morning (!) – with a helper. They did a fantastic job and pretty much weeded the entire back garden by the early afternoon, leaving just bare earth with the few plants & flowers we’d already planted. Borrowed several brown wheelie bins from neighbours away on holiday. Neighbour Graham loaned  me a pair of huge clamps, just the job for the garden gate.

J at Alice's 5th birthday party 2000

J at Alice's 5th birthday party 2000

I sorted out the five music tracks for the funeral and burned them to a CD, including the fades. Nero – easy CD-ROM burning software to use. Printed the final copies of the readings and tweaked the eulogy for the last time (?).

Left for Oxford and a meeting with Margaret and Lesley to discuss catering for the wake. A useful discussion and I think we’re all sorted now. It was a lovely sunny hot day and I had a few minutes in the garden with Margaret beforehand. They have a very nice little garden; I tried to remember the occasional parties, wakes and gatherings we’d had there in the past but it was like thinking of another world.

On the subject of weight loss Lesley pointed out that if I was going to bed late (after midnight) and getting up early (anything between 6 and 8 am) then my metabolism would be more active and I would be burning more calories that way. So – spend more waking hours out of bed and lose weight.

Arranged to meet with R & M on Tuesday for a pub lunch and massive-flower-and plant-buying- session. Lucy drove us home. I scolded her (that’s such an Enid Blyton word isn’t it?) for stalling the car at least twice – she shouldn’t be doing that at this stage. Both girls got a bit huffy with me. Bad Daddy. I re-assembled the guinea-pig run and we put H & H in it for an hour or so. They enjoyed the grass and we lay watching them for a while.

J and L at Xmas party 16 December 1993

J and L at Xmas party 16 December 1993

Watched more Friends episodes with the girls – another DVD series is required. My wedding ring feels odd on my right hand, but oddly I’m quite liking it because I’m continually aware of it… and that’s nice. It’s been two weeks since Juliet died and I think that today is the first day that I haven’t cried. Except while working on the funeral service and music this morning, but that doesn’t count, does it?

About hodders

Husband and proud father of two daughters. Now a widower. Trying to balance between not dwelling on Juliet's death, but telling the world how much I loved her. Tricky.
This entry was posted in Dinosaur garden, Funeral, Guinea pigs, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy - please do leave a comment - I'd love to hear your views - they will add interest to the blog.

