The Proms and a 10k run

A day in our office in Bedfont (south of Heathrow) today, for a team meeting, mostly technical updates. Strangely I had been looking forward to it, inasmuch as it meant putting on a suit and being “normal” again. Woken early by the radio alarm and a traffic report saying “…severe problems on the M40 and M25”. By the time I got there, it wasn’t so bad.

A couple of colleagues referenced J’s “passing” (I’m not keen on that word). I had a brief discussion with a colleague, herself a widow, about the wearing of wedding rings on the right hand. She said she liked wearing the rings there. Glad it’s not just me.

Easy journey home. I listened to a couple of CDs, given away free in the newspapers the weekend J died (or “passed away” – yuck). They were BBC Last Night of the Proms – excellent compilations.

Received a computer-generated recalculation of my council tax. A single adult in a household gets a 25% discount over a couple. Pro-rated, it means I’ll pay £415 less this financial year. Sums bandied around like this, whether credits or invoices, leave me totally unmoved.

I had enough energy to go for a run. I’ve noted that over the last couple of months, my stamina has been declining. So I deliberately set out at a steady pace and managed to do 10k without any trouble at all. Very pleased. Took a fraction over the hour (which is slow, I think my best time is about 57 mins or so) and in fact the full detail is here, running fans. The average speed of 9.99km/h  is annoying though!

In my study I have a large box of miscellaneous, accumulating mementoes of J’s  – I was going to say “teaching” or “career” but it’s actually mementoes of her life. Anyway, this one is self-explanatory:

J's First E-mail

J's First E-mail

About hodders

Husband and proud father of two daughters. Now a widower. Trying to balance between not dwelling on Juliet's death, but telling the world how much I loved her. Tricky.
This entry was posted in Running, Work. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy - please do leave a comment - I'd love to hear your views - they will add interest to the blog.

