Alice starts school

You wouldn’t believe how long it takes to slog through a summer’s worth of emails, but the answer is several days. However I’m also reviewing various presentations and files that were sent with many of the emails which also slows things down.

Took Alice to her bus stop in the neighbouring village of Middle Barton and left her to her fate. Called the funeral directors and arranged to collect J’s ashes on Friday afternoon. Just want to get that aspect [i.e. the scattering] out of the way to be honest.

J at Waddesdon Manor

J at Waddesdon Manor

Had a Skype conversation with an old friend (M) from Canada in the afternoon, which was useful. Sorry, pleasant first, useful second. All these friends I call up – work, university, others – I have slightly different relationships with, and each one is valuable in their own way. I can say different things each time. For instance, M was a former colleague and had met J, but we have not met physically for around nine years or so. Somewhat aghast to learn that she wasn’t aware of my blog, so not one of the 7,739 viewers to date. I read through the bulk of the earliest entries, through to beyond J’s death. I see that I started the blog while J’s mental faculties had already declined. I wish I’d started it earlier, but in fact I’m glad I just started it at all.

Picked Alice up from school, and it looks as though all went well, big sister Lucy had invoked lots of favours and many senior girls had talked to her (even if it was along the line of poking her and saying “So you’re Lucy’s sister? You look just like her”).

I spoke to J’s mum, Margaret, briefly in the evening, and got a little upset trying to sort out a date for the scattering of the ashes.

The remainder of the evening was spent alternately arranging a run at the weekend with a friend-who-happens-to-be-a-girl, and emailing a new friend, who also happens to be female.

“May you live in interesting times”.

Today’s photo is one of my (many) favourites of J, taken on 17 April 2006 at Waddesdon Manor  in Bucks. I think she looks fabulous. I’m not sure I told her so.

About hodders

Husband and proud father of two daughters. Now a widower. Trying to balance between not dwelling on Juliet's death, but telling the world how much I loved her. Tricky.
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Don't be shy - please do leave a comment - I'd love to hear your views - they will add interest to the blog.

